From the topic archives:

Tai Chi Secrets

<div xmlns:cc="" about=""><a rel="cc:attributionURL" href=
Going for it! (Photo by: nimish_gogri)

7 Stages of Learning Tai Chi

Having taught tai chi and qigong to more than 15,000 students, I have come to a deep understanding of seven distinct stages that my students have gone through in learning and adopting tai chi into their daily lives. Read More

Share on Facebook

Tai Chi Secret #5

There are traditionally five levels of credentials and competence for tai chi masters. Contrary to popular belief tai chi does not have black belts or other obvious visible signs of competence. Nevertheless, in China, there is a long-established hierarchy of learning and teaching in tai chi that progresses in five levels. Read More

Share on Facebook

Tai Chi Secret #1

The first tai chi secret is that choosing the appropriate tai chi style for your goals is very important. In fact choosing a tai chi style is one of the most important decisions you’ll make/or don’t make on your journey to learn tai chi. Not ‘consciously’ choosing would be like attending a university and not caring what degree you studied.

For most of the public, tai chi is just one subject, much like a subject area like math or literature. Yet to the more experienced tai chi practioner there are many style of tai chi and choosing the right style is a very important thing to consider before you begin. Now you may luck out and study a style that matches your goals; then again you may not resulting in frustration or even worse injury. Read More

Share on Facebook